## BRITISH COMMITTEE FOR THE REUNIFICATION OF THE PARTHENON MARBLES



15 June 2024

To Dr Nicholas Cullinan OBE,

We are writing to offer a warm congratulations on your recent appointment as Director of the British Museum and wish you all the very best as you take charge of this much beloved institution.

The Committee for the Reunification of the Parthenon Marbles was established in 1983 in response to Melina Mercouri's impassioned call for the return of the Marbles. Over the past four decades we have worked to promote understanding of the Marbles, their history, and to make the case persistently and in good faith for their return.

The 20th of June marks the fifteenth anniversary of the opening of the Acropolis Museum in Athens, a magnificent purpose-built museum in which a reunified Marbles could be exhibited within sight of the monument they were so wrongly taken from.

We felt it important to write to you on this occasion, to voice our warm encouragement for the talks that have taken place to date between the Museums and relevant authorities - particularly following official confirmation from the Turkish government that they hold no record of the supposed Firman through which Elgin claimed authorisation for the removal of the Marbles.

We have staged a celebration each year since the opening of the Acropolis Museum and this year have chosen Saturday 15 June to tie in with this year's anniversary. We believe this is a unique and opportune moment in which the British Museum's moral leadership can be revitalised, a mutually beneficial arrangement arrived at, and that this unrivalled work of classic antiquity be reunified.

We write to request a meeting at your earliest convenience to discuss the fate of the Marbles, and see how our Committee may assist you in exploring their reunification along with the vital wider work you are about to embark upon in leading the British Museum into its next chapter.

We understand that there will be many demands on your time but wanted to ensure that this claim, more than 200 years in the making, lands as the first request on your desk.

Yours,

Janet Suzman DBE, Chair Professor Paul Cartledge, Vice-Chair

Plus members: Hon President Professor Anthony Snodgrass, Professor Oliver Taplin, Professor Judith Herrin, Dr Peter Thonemann, Professor Edith Hall, Professor John Tasioulas, Professor Andrew Wallace-Hadrill, Bruce Clark, Dr Rebecca Lowe, Dr Christa Roodt, Peter Aspden, Alexi Kaye Campbell, Michael Wood, Baroness Shami Chakrabarti, Victoria Hislop, Professor Armand D'Angour, Professor Isabel Ruffell, Dr Christopher Stockdale, Oliver Webb-Carter, Dr Tessa Dunlop, Keith Hunter, Benjamin Ramm, Christina Borg, Stuart O'Hara, George Gabriel, Avgoustinos Galiassos, Professor Amy Shakespeare, Alexander Benakis & Marlen Godwin